The first quarterly meeting of the Coastal Bend Peace Officers Association was held in the Central Jury Room of the Nueces County Courthouse on November 1, 1966 and was called to order by the first CBPOA President, Franklin Painter, who was a Supervisor with the Texas Liquor Control Board in Corpus Christi, Texas.  Officers and Board of Directors elected were:

First Vice-President:  Sheriff Wayne Hitt...San Patricio County Sheriff's Department

Second Vice-President:  Sheriff Johnnie Mitchell...Nueces County Sheriff's Department

Secretary/Treasurer:  William L. Burch...Nueces County Sheriff's Department

Sergeant-At-Arms:  Texas Ranger Silwin H. Denson

Director:  Sheriff Bob Reagan...Live Oak County Sheriff's Department

Director:  Sgt. Ray Holub...Texas Department of Public Safety, Sinton

Director:  Sheriff Jack Robinson...Bee County Sheriff's Department

Director:  Chief Frank Petrova...Sinton  Police Department

Director:  Deputy R.M. Campbell...Kenedy County Sheriff's Department

Director:  Chief Felix Turnbough...Aransas Pass Police Department

Director:  Sheriff Joe Farinhunt...Aransas County Sheriff's Department

Coastal Bend Peace Officer Association Life Members

Melvin Arnold          Joseph Lyvers          Larry Busby          Bob C. Mayfield          H.A. Conner          J.K. McMahan

Rafael Cuellar          Pat Moore          Lee Duckworth          C.B. Owens          Bill Gibbens          Kenneth R. Poenish

Adolfo Guerrero          Joe Salinas          Rita Gunter          Dino Tamez          Robert Hewes          Lou Villagomez

D.E. Higgins  Botham          Gilberto Ybanez          James D. Hodges          Robert Zenner          Robert L.. Horn          Tony Trevino

Leroy Moody

Chairman of the Board-Roy Boyd

306 S. Bridge

Victoria, Texas 77901

Chaplain--Pastor T. Wayne Price

senior directors

Goliad County Sheriff Kirby Brumby

701 E. End St.

Goliad, Texas 77963

(361) 645-3451-Office



2nd Director Patrol Lt. Derek Franco

2962 Old St. Mary's Rd.

Beeville, Texas 78102

Secretary/Treasurer Charity Franco

2962 Old St. Mary's Rd.

Beeville, Texas 78102


1st Junior Director Raul "Pinky" Gonzales

108 Secor Rd.

Refugio, Texas 78377

junior directors

1st Vice-President Lou Villagomez

5029 Bromley Dr.

Corpus Christi, Texas 78413

Office:  361-881-5318

2nd Vice-President Joe Gaitan

7092 CR. 2567

Sinton, Texas 78387

Office:  361-385-0418


Scholarships Chairman--Sheriff Larry Busby

200 Larry Busby Dr.

George West, Texas 78022

Office-(361) 449-2271


1st Director Sheriff Alden Southmayd

1511 E. Toledo St.

Beeville, Texas 78102


2nd Junior Director Lt. Adrian Rodriguez

300 N. Rachel

Sinton, Texas 78387

Sgt.-At-Arms John Davis

7780 FM 822

Edna, Texas 77957